Planting My Hops

My hops arrived in a nice neat box less than a week after I ordered them. I immediately opened them up, took a quick pic and uploaded them to instagram. Here they are still in the box (and sans filter).

hops in a box

hops in a box

I hadn’t yet picked up my gardening essentials to plant them, so I headed on over for some planting mix, some organic fertilizer and some small planter pots.

Here’s what they look like now that they’re planted. (l to r Liberty, Glacier, Centennial, Zeus)

my planted hops, day 1

my planted hops, day 1

Liberty measures 7″ with two small bines (I initially thought it was vines, with a V, but what I read here and here said bines, with a B, so that’s what I’m going with.)

Liberty hops, day 1

Liberty hops, day 1

Glacier measures 7 1/2″ with five bines (+ one tiny bine if you wanna count it too)

Glacier hops, day 1

Glacier hops, day 1

Centennial measures 4 1/2″ with eight bines. It’s kinda short but full.

Centennial hops, day 1

Centennial hops, day 1

Zeus measures 6″ with eleven bines. He’s the fullest including three small sprouts about 2″ or so each.

Zeus hops, day 1

Zeus hops, day 1

Here’s another shot from Day 1 which shows them in the mid-afternoon sun.

planted hops in mid-afternoon sun, day 1

planted hops in mid-afternoon sun, day 1

Follow Sharehopper on twitter (or me here, here and here) as I post updates now and again.

If you have any advice on growing or harvesting hops be sure to drop me a line.

Cheers!

About zkgraff

Man on the move, Director @ensemblezkg, Host of @DesignInConvo Podcast, Triathlete, CrossFitter, Ironman CA 70.3 Finisher
This entry was posted in Ensemble and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

